Before I left…some Danish in Denmark

Before I left for New Haven, I needed to do it.

So Alice, Claire, and I headed out on a cold Wednesday morning to the best Danish bakery in town. To get there, you have to go across a bridge, walk down the stairs, turn around, and walk along winding roads that feel like you’re in Central Park. Along the way, we met an older man who told us about his time in Qatar.

Of course, he was headed to the same bakery, too, for his daily dose of bread. We three went crazy and just bought tons of things. I bought some focaccia, five different types of pastries, and some tea cookies to bring back. The rhubarb Danish was out of this world. Yum. It reminded me of the days over the summer when I made strawberry-rhubarb crisp using Grace’s Dorie Greenspan cookbook. Dorie knows what’s good.

Leave a Reply

